New Batting Order?


The Tigers’ batting order has remained mostly unchanged this season, as long as all the players were healthy. On a typical night, it looked something like this:

1 – Uemoto (2B)

2 – Yamato (CF)

3 – Toritani (SS)

4 – Gomez (1B)

5 – Murton (LF)

6 – Fukudome (RF)

7 – Imanari / T Arai (3B)

8 – Umeno / Tsuruoka / Fujii (C)

9 – Starting Pitcher

Sixth and seventh sometimes flip-flopped, especially when Fukudome was struggling earlier in the year. However, reports in today’s news reveal a potential huge shift in the order for the playoffs, in an attempt to generate more runs. This is what reporters are saying the lineup could look like:

1 – Murton (LF)

2 – Yamato (CF)

3 – Fukudome (RF)

4 – Gomez (1B)

5 – T Arai (3B)

6 – Toritani (SS)

7 – Fujii / Tsuruoka (C)

8 – Uemoto (2B)

9 – Starting Pitcher

Wow… talk about shuffling the deck late in the game! Let’s see if this materializes or not, and what kind of results it produces. For now, the question is yours to answer:

Facebook Comments



I breathe air.